My experience with a Fujitsu Ductless Split

   I will let my readers know up front that I have never had central air for heating or cooling in any of my residences. The most I have ever done to try and battle the summer heat is put a window air conditioner in an apartment I was living in Salem. Now being an owner of a home I wanted to have the luxury of a central air system but was very concerned by the cost. A central air system requires duct work to be brought throughout the home to each area/zone. My house being 100 years old this was not feasible by any means. Luckily being in the trade brings its benefits and I knew about the Fujitsu Halcyon Ductless Split systems. The Fujitsu Halcyon system consists of a indoor blower unit and outdoor condenser unit. Both units are much quieter then your average air conditioner and about as loud as a overhead fan. I won’t bother explaining all the details about the ease of installation of these products but I will make it quite clear that NO duct work was required. The work can normally be done in one day which was the case in my instance. 

I purchased my materials directly through my company and got the 12,000 BTU model. This unit cools my entire first floor, a total of 900 square feet. The cost of running the unit for an entire season is around $50. Talk about energy efficiency a window unit could cost upwards of $20-30 per month to run for 10-12 hours out of the day. The unit I had installed also does heating, this was an added option as there are units that only do cooling. I was one of the poor souls that locked in on a high price on home heating oil last year and this season I was looking for any way to supplement my current heating system.  The difference in the cost of the system providing heat was several hundred dollars. The total cost to run this unit for an entire heating season is about $250. My expected savings for this upcoming heating season will be around $500 so it will pay for itself in just one year.  I am also receiving a rebate from my power company up to $500 for installing a new energy efficient unit. All of this on top of the “The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009” for a Federal Tax credit of 30% up to $1500 towards the cost of this project.

So all of the above is well and good you say but how does well does the unit function you ask… If you remember back just a couple weeks to the 10 day  heat wave we had high humidy in the 90’s day after day. My whole first floor was kept to a dry 74 degrees throughout the entire time. All of this is done through a simple remote control that offers multiple functions like – fan only mode, dry mode which helps to control humidity levels and varying levels of use from High, Medium, Low and Quite. This allows for you to find the exact climate you will feel most comfortable with during use of the system.

I can tell you I am completely satisfied. The unit is much friendlier to the eyes then a window air conditioner. The cost out of pocket was just a fraction of the cost of a complete central air system and that does not include the rebates that are forthcoming. I would highly recommend the Fujitsu Halcyon ductless split system to any residence or commercial property owner. Thanks for taking out the time to read up about my experience and hope to see you back soon.

You can learn more about the Fujitsu Halcyon Ductless Split systems here:

http://www.fujitsugeneral.com/learn_about.htm

Example of my system:

http://www.fujitsugeneral.com/wallmounted9-12RL.htm

 

____________________________________________________________

Caron Electric is a licensed, insured, and quality certified installer of these Fujitsu Halcyon products and systems.

#800.400.9940

service@caronelectric.com

http://caronelectric.com/index.html

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “My experience with a Fujitsu Ductless Split”

  1. rubin Says:

    please let me know about caron truck , hydrulic steering

  2. Tanya Says:

    You’re so interesting! I do not believe I’ve read something like that
    before. So wonderful to discover someone with some original thoughts on this topic.
    Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is something that is required
    on the internet, someone with some originality!

    • caronelectric Says:

      Thank you for the kind words Tanya. This comment gives me incentive on writing another article.
      I will try to have it out before the end of next week. Hope to see you come back to read that as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

